Seriously Harry, less strict


Hard Truths

A couple of days back, Singapore’s “founding father” Lee Kuan Yew has urged local Muslims to “be less strict on Islamic observances” to aid integration and the city-state’s nation-building process.

What?

Seriously Harry?

What do you mean by “less strict”.

My Social Life in Singapore

I give you the “Hard Facts” now. I’m a Muslim and born and bred in Singapore.

When I was young, I played with dogs.

I served the National Service and observe the National Day Parade.

I was in an élite unit and commanded a section of Hokkien-educated soldiers. During the so-called “reservist”, I was the platoon sergeant, again with a bunch of Chinese Hokkien-educated soldiers.

When it’s Chinese New Year, I’m with my friends for a “lo-hei” session and we eat and drink together and wish everybody happiness and prosperity. Last year, I exclaimed “Huat” with all my Chinese friends and colleagues.

When it’s Deepavali, I’m with Indian friends and I greet their families in the Indian traditional Añjali Mudrā way. And we have a lovely vegetarian meal together.

I’ve been to a church wedding as well as a Hindu wedding in a temple. I stood up when they praise the Lord Jesus.

On Christmas, I attend Christmas parties.

I have raised glasses to cheer the success of my friends and colleagues.

On Hari Raya Haji, I’m at the mosque praying and observing the sacrificial slaughter of animals.

On Hari Raya Puasa, my conscience is clear because I fast the required amount of time during Ramadan.

At work, I go out for lunch with my colleagues regardless of race and religion. Though I prefer to go out with the ladies.  We eat at the same table and they still eat their pork dishes.

I’ve attended funerals of friends of different religions.

Malay leadership or Muslim Organisations in Singapore

What was the response from Singapore Muslims organisations like MUIS? The Muslim Member of Parliament?

The crickets sound louder in the dead of the night.

I have never looked up to these so-called organisations. They are merely another arm of the state propaganda machine.

These are my fundamental truths

  • My allegiance is always to Almighty Allah and I bear witness unequivocally that Muhammad is the messenger of Allah.
  • I don’t pray to other gods except Allah.
  • I don’t drink alcoholic beverages (For the cheers, I just raise a glass of green tea or coke).
  • I don’t eat non-halal food.

Now, Harry, on which part must I be “less strict”.

For all to ponder.

Chapter 109 : Surah Al-Kafirun

بِسْمِ اللَّهِ الرَّحْمَنِ الرَّحِيمِ
1. In the name of Allah, the Gracious, the Merciful.

قُلْ يَاأَيُّهَا الْكَافِرُونَ
2. Say, “0 ye disbelievers!

لاَ أَعْبُدُ مَا تَعْبُدُونَ
3. I worship not as you worship,

وَلاَ أَنْتُمْ عَابِدُونَ مَا أَعْبُدُ
4. Nor do you worship as I worship.

وَلاَ أَنَا عَابِدٌ مَا عَبَدتُّمْ
5. Nor do I worship those that you worship,

وَلاَ أَنْتُمْ عَابِدُونَ مَا أَعْبُدُ
6. Nor do you worship Him Whom I worship.

لَكُمْ دِينُكُمْ وَلِيَ دِينِ
7. For you your religion, and for me my religion.”

 

Tags: , , ,

About Marcos

Reboot{;ed}; Reinvented: I am
